Feature Stories

14.10.2019

Changing the System

In driving Hong Kong’s burgeoning multidisciplinary fintech sector, the launch of the MSc in Fintech program will provide students with a prime opportunity to enhance their career opportunities in a new sector that continues to change the global financial system.

Jointly offered by the Schools of Business and Management, Engineering, and Science, it is the first time the three Schools have combined their strengths to create a new degree program designed to prepare professionals and entrepreneurs to play a leading role in Hong Kong's evolving fintech environment.

Offered as a one-year full-time or a two-year part-time study-mode option, a key aim of the Program is to provide students with fundamental knowledge to enhance their competitiveness by improving their abilities to formulate, analyze and solve fintech-related challenges. As the fintech field covers all areas of the financial landscape, the Program combines statistics and data analytics skills from the School of Science, expertise in artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning from the School of Engineering, and finance and management knowledge from the School of Business and Management.

Understand rapidly evolving financial markets

As someone who believes strongly in lifelong learning, Irene LO, Director, Governance and Control, Corporate Partnerships, Retail Banking (Hong Kong) at Standard Chartered Bank, says the MSc in Fintech Program will enable her to keep pace with developments in the sector while adding value to her existing competencies. “I believe the Program will help me contribute innovative ideas, and find new ways of doing things, which provide benefits to our customers and our business,” says Lo.

Having recently completed her MSc in Corporate Governance, Lo says she is looking forward to exploring the various ways that technology and big data can be utilized. In particular, Lo says she is looking forward to using insights gained in the classroom, for example, big data knowledge, to implement customer-centric products and solutions based on customer behavior.

“With in-depth understanding of customer behavior, we can see the bigger picture, and predict 'next best actions' to deliver tailored products and services,” explains Lo. Networking with fellow students and exchanging ideas about new ways to address financial challenges will be another highlight of her new learning journey, Lo adds.

Learning from industry links

LIM Tay Her, an experienced equity portfolio manager and former oil and gas process engineer, says the Program provides him with additional competencies to further his career. “I believe the Program will provide me with a competitive edge in the profession,” Lim says. “I am looking forward to developing new skills and acquiring knowledge that I can use to solve emerging fintech challenges.”

Lim says the Program stands out because of its many unique features. “The cross-disciplinary collaboration between the three Schools really is a key strength of the Program,” notes Lim, who believes his fintech skills will compliment his engineering and analytical skills. “It’s about building a strong foundation of knowledge and a set of skills which will allow me to capitalize on challenges and opportunities,” says Lim.

Lim says visits to companies pioneering the use of fintech, where students are able to engage with senior managers, executives and entrepreneurs, are another benefit of the Program. Students will also participate in workshops and speaker events to help them keep up with developments in the industry.

While the mature nature of the traditional finance industry means that many challenges have been solved, the new world of fintech presents a myriad of areas to explore, Lim says. Specifically, Lim is interested in applying fintech-related analytics, machine learning, and big data to speed up the equity research and investment process.  

First Class Profile 

  • Total Enrollment: 58
  • Gender: 32 (Male) & 26 (Female)
  • No. of Nationalities: 7

商學院故事

14.10.2019

獲益良多

在推動香港發展跨領域的金融科技業之際,金融科技理學碩士課程將提供新契機,讓修讀學生在不斷轉變的環球金融制度下把握更佳就業機遇。

新課程由工商管理學院、工學院及理學院合辦,旨在讓專業人士和企業家裝備自己,在瞬息萬變的香港金融科技環境中發揮主導作用。

課程分為一年全日制和兩年兼讀制,主要目的是加強他們制定、分析及解決金融科技相關挑戰的能力,以提高他們的競爭力。由於金融科技涵蓋多方面的金融知識,課程融合了理學院的統計和數據分析專業、工學院的人工智能和機器學習專長,以及工商管理學院的財務和管理知識。

了解瞬息萬變的金融市場

渣打銀行個人金融業務企業員工銀行拓展部董事羅劍琴(Irene)堅信終身學習的價值。她表示金融科技理學碩士課程讓她追上行業發展步伐,為現有技能增值。「我相信課程有助我提出創新構思,找到新的處事方法,最終能令客戶和業務得益。」

最近完成企業管治理學碩士課程的Irene說,她期待探索各種運用科技和大數據的方式,尤其應用課堂上學到的,如大數據知識可因應客戶行為,推出以客為本的產品和解決方案。

她解釋道:「深入了解客戶行為,讓我們看清整體形勢,並計劃下次提供度身訂造產品和服務的最佳方案。」 她亦謂,與同學建立人脈,並就解決財務問題的新方法交流意見,將是她的另一個學習重點。

建立行業

經驗豐富的股票投資組合經理與前石油及天然氣工程師林泰禾稱,該課程為他培養額外技能,讓他進一步發展事業。「我相信課程將給予我專業競爭優勢,我期待發展新技能和掌握知識,以解決新興金融科技的挑戰。」

林泰禾表示:「由三個學院提供的跨學科課程是課程的一大優勢。」他相信自己的金融科技知識可與工程和分析技能互補。「課程可讓我建立基礎知識和各種新技能,以應對挑戰,把握機遇。」

他稱,課程學生有機會到訪率先使用金融科技的公司,與高級管理人員、行政人員及企業家接觸,亦有可參加工作坊和講座活動,緊貼行業發展。

林泰禾說,儘管傳統金融業發展成熟,意味著許多問題已獲解決,但金融科技的新世界存在無數值得探索的新領域。具體而言,他希望應用與金融科技相關的分析、機器學習及大數據,加速股票研究和投資過程

課程學員

  • 收生總數:58
  • 性別: 32 (男)    26 (女)
  • 國籍:7個