Feature Stories

14.10.2019

Driving Innovation

Universities are the most effective and productive source for driving basic innovation in a broad sense, says Nicholas YANG, the Secretary for Innovation and Technology. While Hong Kong benefits from some of the best universities in the region and the development in the Greater Bay Area, the city will have a bigger role to play.

Five years ago, the Hong Kong entrepreneurial ecosystem had little to show for itself. It was easy for critics to say that Hong Kong had fallen behind other cities, and that the few thriving startups were isolated successes that were not supported by a robust ecosystem.

Today, the picture has changed as reflected by some key indicators. In 2014, Hong Kong had no unicorns – defined as companies with a valuation of US$1 billion or more. By 2018, there were eight unicorns in Hong Kong. In 2014, Hong Kong had just 22 co-working spaces, but this number had increased to over 90 today. In 2014, the amount of venture capitalist (VC) investment in Hong Kong startups was HK$1.27 billion. By 2018, this number had increased 14 fold to HK$17.8 billion.

Startups achieve double-digit growth

The figures regarding venture capital funding are the most telling, says Nicholas Yang, the HKSAR Government’s Secretary for Innovation and Technology. “We [the government] cannot tell VCs to invest more. They are willing to invest because of the improving deal flow in Hong Kong,” he says. “We have some of the top global VCs in the city. This is because our startups have achieved double-digit growth, and moreover, that growth is quality growth.”

The Innovation and Technology Bureau (ITB) was formed by the HKSAR government in 2015. Yang is the first minister of innovation and technology to serve in Hong Kong.

Yang and his team at the ITB have launched many initiatives to encourage venture capital co-investment, promote STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) education, and to incentivize research and development.

The latest initiatives include to promote innovation within the government. A Smart Government Innovation Lab (‘Smart Lab’) officially opened in May. The Smart Lab serves as a platform for government departments to explain their problems and needs. In response, the Smart Lab invites local innovators to explore and build solutions. Yang calls the Smart Lab an “ecosystem builder”.

The government’s procurement system no longer prioritizes price over innovation. Instead of awarding projects to the lowest qualified bidder, the new procurement methodology gives more weight to innovative technological solutions.

“This is a change of mindset,” Yang says. “We are willing to pay more for innovation – one of the ways to promote innovation.”

Areas of highest growth potential

Yang says there is much more to be done. He has identified the four areas which have the highest growth potential for the Hong Kong ecosystem: healthcare, artificial intelligence (AI) and robotics, fintech, and smart city initiatives. There is a local or global need to be addressed for each of these areas, and Hong Kong has the strength to help address that need.  

Hong Kong and other advanced economies in Asia, have an aging population and a shrinking workforce. Currently, the median age in Hong Kong is 44. This drives the need for innovation in the healthcare sector, as well as the demand for service robots that leverage artificial intelligence, Yang says.

“In the near future, over half of our population will be over 50 years old,” Yang adds. “A different kind of healthcare needs to be developed for the population. This is a daunting task.”

A vision for the future

Yang’s vision for Hong Kong’s future includes new economic sectors which feature innovation. He thinks new sectors could evolve from the four high-potential sectors. It could also result from other technology-driven sectors, such as e-sports, which is a high-growth segment in digital entertainment.

“In five years’ time, I hope you will see one or more new economic sectors accounting for three to five per cent of our GDP,” Yang says.

The future of Hong Kong’s tech ecosystem is determined by many different stakeholders, notably by the entrepreneurs themselves. Yang wants Hong Kong entrepreneurs to explore opportunities in building standards and platforms for emerging technologies.

“If you can build a standard, everybody will follow you. If you build a platform, a lot of people are going to depend on you,” he says. For instance, the implementation of 5G Internet of Things (IoT) will require new standards and platforms, Yang notes.

Yang stresses that entrepreneurs need to be fearless in the face of challenging problems.  

“I encourage entrepreneurs to continue to think out of the box,” he says. “Don’t avoid the most difficult problems. If you can solve one or two of the most difficult problems, think about the difference you will have made.”

“People tend to say, go for the low hanging fruits. But innovation and technology are about solving the most difficult problems,” Yang says.

 “Innovation and technology are about solving the most difficult problems.”
Nicholas Yang, Secretary for Innovation and Technology, Innovation and Technology Bureau

About the Innovation and Technology Bureau

  • Established by the HKSAR Government in 2015
  • To develop Hong Kong into a knowledge-based economy and an innovation hub for technology and its application in the region

商學院故事

14.10.2019

推動創新

香港特區政府創新及科技局局長楊偉雄表示,廣義上大學是推動基本創新的最有效和最具生產力的泉源。香港受於區內一些頂級大學及大灣區的發展,在推動創新方面將發揮更大作用。

五年前,香港創業投資生態系統乏善可陳。有論者批評,香港落後於其他城市,而少數成功的初創公司只屬個別例子,而並非得到健全生態系統的支援。

現時,一些主要指標顯示,情況已大有改變。在2014年,香港並無稱為「獨角獸」(unicorn)的初創企業 —— 即估值為10億美元或以上的公司,到 2018年,香港已有八家獨角獸初創企業。在2014年,香港只有 22 個共享辦公空間,如今這數目已增至超過 90 。在2014年,風險投資基金投放於香港初創公司的總額為12.7億港元,到 2018年,總投資額已增長14倍至178億港元。

初創公司以雙位數字增長

創新及科技局局長楊偉雄說,風險投資基金的投資額最能反映實際情況。「政府不能要求風險投資基金增加投資。他們願意投資,是因為香港的投資項目流量(deal flow)正不斷提升。一些全球頂尖的創投公司都進駐香港,原因是本港的初創公司正以雙位數字增長,而且都是高質的增長。」

香港特區政府於2015年成立創新及科技局,楊偉雄自此出任局長。

在楊偉雄領導下,創科局團隊落實多項舉措,以推動創投基金的共同投資、促進STEM (即科學、 科技、工程及數學) 教育,以及鼓勵研發工作等。

最新的措施包括在政府內部推動創新。「智慧政府創新實驗室」 (智慧實驗室) 已於本年5月正式啟動,提供平台供政府部門臚列它們的困難和需要,而智慧實驗室將邀請本地創新者合力探討和構建解決方案。楊氏形容智慧實驗室是「生態系統構建者」 。

政府現時的採購政策,不再單純以價格為先,而同時着重創新。在新的採購制度下,項目評審再不是價低者得,創新技術解決方案所佔的比重會更高。

「這是思維的改變。政府樂意付出更多爭取引入創新技術方案, 這也是推動創新的方式之一。」

增長潛力最高的領域

楊偉雄表示還有許多工作要做。就香港的生態系統而言,他指出四個最高增長潛力的範疇:醫療服務、人工智能及機器人技術、金融科技,以及智慧城市。這些領域都有本地和全球性的需求,而香港正具備滿足相關需求的條件。  

香港和亞洲其他先進經濟體都有人口老化和勞動力萎縮的情況。楊偉雄說,目前香港的平均年齡為44歲,這人口結構將推動醫療界對創新技術的需求,同時相信運用人工智能及機器人的服務需求亦會增加。

「在不久將來,香港半數以上的人口將超過50歲,」 他補充說。「故此,須要發展相應的醫療服務,這將是一項艱巨的任務。」

未來的願景

楊偉雄對香港未來的願景包括以創新科技為主的新經濟產業。他認為,這些新產業可由最高潛力的四個領域推展而來,亦可來自其他技術驅動的行業,例如數碼娛樂行業中的電子競技,便有很高的增長潛力。

「我希望在五年內,有一個或多個佔本地生產總値百分之三至五的新經濟產業出現,」 楊氏說。

香港科技生態系統的未來取決於眾多不同的持份者,特別是企業家本身。楊偉雄希望香港的企業家探討為新興科技設定標準和平台的機會。

「如果你設定一個標準,其他人便會遵循;如果你構建一個平台,許多人都將倚賴你,」 他指出,例如實施 5G 物聯網將要新的標準和平台。

楊偉雄強調,面對挑戰性的難題,企業家應果敢無懼。  

「我鼓勵企業家不斷跳出框架來思考,不要逃避難題。當你能夠解決最難問題中的一兩項,想像一下所帶來的深遠影響。 」

「人們傾向捨難取易,但創新和科技的核心是解決最棘手的問題,」 楊氏說。

創新和科技是解決最棘手的問題。
香港特區政府創新及科技局局長楊偉雄

創新及科技局

  • 由香港特別行政區政府於2015年成立
  • 將香港發展成為一個知識型經濟體系,以及在科技及其應用上成為區內的創新樞紐